TRC Logo

United Press International, June 30, 2007

New Hampshire repeals abortion law

DATELINE: CONCORD, N.H. -- New Hampshire has become the first state to repeal a law requiring parental notification 48 hours before a minor has an abortion.

Gov. John Lynch Friday signed the bill repealing the 2003 law, which he called unenforceable, the Nashua (N.H.) Telegraph reported Saturday.

"I strongly believe parents should be involved in these decisions, providing important support and guidance," Lynch said. "Unfortunately, that is not possible in every case."

Opponents of the repeal staged a massive letter writing campaign in a failed effort to convince Lynch to veto the measure, the newspaper said.

The law required abortion clinics to notify at least one parent within 48 hours of an abortion scheduled to be performed on a child under 18.

Planned Parenthood had won two lower court challenges and in 2006 the U.S. Supreme Court agreed the law failed to address medical emergencies.

Send this page to a friend!

Home   About Us   Newsletters   News Archives   Donate